AAP’s Durgesh Pathak wins in the Rajinder Nagar bypoll

- June 26, 2022
| By : Patriot Bureau |

On Sunday, Aam Aadmi Party’s Durgesh Pathak won in the Rajinder Nagar assembly bypoll by defeating BJP candidate Rajesh Bhatia by a margin of more than 11,000 votes

Durgesh Pathak / Photo: Twitter

As per the official record, with a victory margin of 11,468 votes, the winning candidate AAP’s Durgesh Pathak acquired 40,319 votes, whereas BJP’s Rajesh Bhatia received 28,851 votes.

Delhi Chief Electoral Officer Ranbir Singh stated that all 16 rounds of counting were completed with AAP candidate Durgesh Pathak defeating his immediate rival from BJP Rajesh Bhatia by a margin of 11,000 votes.

The counting of votes began at 8 in the morning. However, the final voting figures are yet to be declared by the poll panel.

Congress candidate Prem Lata was able to secure a meagre 2,014 votes in the bypoll.

Recording a low turnout of 43.75%, the bypoll to the Rajinder Nagar constituency took place on 23 June. The main rivals were AAP and BJP, with 14 candidates in the fray.


(With inputs from PTI)


For more stories that cover the ongoings of Delhi NCR, follow us on:
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/thepatriot_in/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Patriot_Delhi
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Thepatriotnewsindia