FCI beat RBI to win All India Public Sector T20 Cricket title

- October 5, 2023
| By : Patriot Bureau |

Food Corporation of India chase the 168-run target set by Reserve Bank of India in Gurugram to win by eight wickets

Half-centuries from Paras Dogra (56 not out off 30 balls; 4x4s, 3x6s), Priyanshu Arya (52 runs off 16 balls; 8×4 3×6) and Nitin Saini (50) helped Food Corporation of India (FCI) defeat Reserve Bank of India (RBI) by eight wickets in the final of the All India Public Sector T20 Cricket Tournament 2023 in Gurugram.

RBI had scored 167 for eight wickets in 20 overs with Deepak (44), Kundan Kumar (38) Jyot Chhaya (31) being the main contributors.

FCI went past the target in exactly 20 overs, reaching 170/2 in 20 overs.

Earlier, in the semi-finals, FCI had defeated host Bank of Baroda by four wickets to enter the final.

Pace bowler Rishi Dhawan picked 4/25 to restrict Bank of Baroda to 175/6 in 20 overs. Chetan Bisht top-scored for the bank team with 55. In response, FCI coasted to 176/6 in 19 overs with Mayank Rawat making 42 and Nitin Saini hitting 41.

RBI had beaten BSNL in the other semi-final by eight wickets with Pranay Sharma (88) and Amit Mishra (3/40) turning out to be the star players.

Batting first, BSNL had hit 182/3 in 20 overs with Anshul Kapoor making 68 and Varun Kumar scoring 66. But RBI coasted to the total in 18 overs, losing just two wickets.

Priyanshu Arya of FCI got the best batsman of the tournament award, Mayank Rawat of FCI was adjudged tournament’s best all-rounder, Prince Chaudhary of FCI the best bowler and Varun Kumar of Bank of Baroda was adjudged the best fielder.