Priyansh Arya powers Delhi to easy win over Karnataka

- October 22, 2023
| By : Patriot Bureau |

The left-handed opener makes a quick-fire half-century to help Delhi coast to third successive win in the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament

Young left-handed opening batsman Priyansh Arya powered Delhi to an eight-wicket win in the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20, hammering 51 off 24 balls (3x6s, 7x4s) to make short work of the 137-run target set by Karnataka in Dehradun.

Arya and wicketkeeper-batsman Anuj Rawat (38 off 32 balls) added 72 for the first wicket in just over six overs to set Delhi on track for an easy win in the Group E clash.

Skipper Yash Dhull scored an unbeaten 26 while Ayush Badoni remained unbeaten on 14.

Put in to bat first, Karnataka were restricted to 136/5 in 20 overs.

Abhinav Manohar, who was introduced as an IP (impact player) by Karnataka at the fall of the fourth wicket, with the score on 50 in the 10th over, top-scored with unbeaten 44 in 35 balls.

Delhi’s bowlers impressed once again with only Harshit Rana going for runs, giving away runs at over 11. India Test bowler Ishant Sharma (1/19), leg-spinner Suyash Sharma (1/20) and off-spinner Lalit Yadav (3/19) were among wickets as they tightened the noose around Karnataka batsmen.

Delhi are leading the points table, with 14 points in four matches. Tamil Nadu are the next best with 10 points although they have played one game less than Delhi.

The two teams face each other on Monday.

Brief scores: Karnataka 136/5 in 20 overs (Abhinav Manohar 44 not out, Shrijith Krishnan 24, Lalit Yadav 3/19, Ishant Sharma 1/19, Suyash Sharma 1/20) lost to Delhi 137/2 in 16.5 overs (Priyansh Arya 51, Anuj Rawat 38, Yash Dhull 26 not out) by eight wickets.