Australia won the toss and elected to bowl in the final of the ICC World Cup against host India on Sunday here in Ahmedabad at the Narendra Modi Stadium.

Both teams are unchanged from the semi-finals and are coming into this game with unbeaten streak — Australia having won their last eight games and India all the 10 they have played at the ongoing World Cup.

India captain Rohit Sharma said that he would have opted to bat had he won the toss.

Australia, the five-time champions and seven-time finalists, are probably expecting dew to be a factor later in the match and don’t want to expose their bowlers and fielders to it. India have won the 50-over World Cup twice before, in 1983 and 2011.

The pitch, the same as used for the India-Pakistan match on October 14, has been described as dry.


India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wicket-keeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj.

Australia: David Warner, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Josh Inglis (wicket-keeper), Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins (captain), Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood