Election results 2024: BJP maintains its hold over Delhi NCR

- June 6, 2024
| By : Patriot Bureau |

The party maintained its winning streak as it claimed Gurgaon, Gautam Budhh Nagar and Faridabad Lok Sabha constituencies

CONVINCING WIN: BJP candidate from Gurgaon Lok Sabha constituency Rao Inderjit Singh defeated Congress party’s Raj Babbar

Election results 2024: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won the Gautam Buddh Nagar, under which falls Noida, and Gurgaon seats while also walking away with the Faridabad and Ghaziabad Lok Sabha seats to maintain its dominance in the National Capital Region. 

In the Gautam Buddh Nagar constituency, people voted for Dr Mahesh Sharma decisively, making the area his stronghold for the third time straight. He secured 8.57 lakh votes and won by a margin of 5.60 lakh votes.

The constituency recorded a total of 14.35 lakh votes General Elections. 

Also Read:  Delhi goes all in for BJP, even as rest of India throws up a divided mandate

Initially, he had contested the Lok Sabha elections in 2009, when he was defeated by BSP’s Surendra Singh Nagar.

He then contested in 2014, riding the ‘Modi wave’, and became an MP, defeating Samajwadi Party’s (SP) Narendra Bhati. In 2019, Sharma defeated BSP’s Satveer Singh Gujjar on a BJP ticket and secured 8.30 lakh votes against the latter’s 4.93 lakh

His victory margin this time was the highest recorded in the 80 seats in Uttar Pradesh, overtaking Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s margin by almost three times. This has taken Sharma’s tally to 59.7% of the total votes cast. 

Speaking to Patriot, Sharma expressed gratitude and appreciation, saying, “I want to thank and congratulate all my supporters and party workers. I have been residing in Gautam Buddh Nagar for 42 years, and the people have always shown me love and respect. We fought these elections under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, driven by his vision of a developed nation. My people have given me the largest majority in this Lok Sabha election.

“The party placed its trust in me, and I will uphold that trust. All pending developmental issues, whether they pertain to farmers, builders, homebuyers, traffic, or pollution, will be addressed promptly.” 

While expressing his gratitude to PM Modi and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath for his victory, Sharma confidently stated, “The NDA will form the government.”

Also Read:  Water crisis leaves Capital parched

Following a decisive battle in the Gurgaon Lok Sabha constituency, BJP’s Rao Inderjit Singh was able to oust Congress’ Raj Babbar from the political map in the saffron stronghold. Singh maintained his stranglehold in the IT hub for the fourth time since 2009, winning by a margin of 75,079 votes.

According to the Election Commission data, Singh secured 8,08,336 votes, while Raj Babbar managed to garner 7,33,257 votes. This margin underscores Singh’s popularity in the constituency and the BJP’s ability to maintain its dominance in the region.

The Gurgaon Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 10 parliamentary constituencies in Haryana. It is renowned for its significant voter turnout and has been a bastion of the BJP in recent years.

Babbar, perceived as an outsider, faced the challenge of penetrating the BJP stronghold.

The Gurgaon constituency voted in phase six of the Lok Sabha elections on May 25, 2024, and recorded a voter turnout of 62.03%, which is slightly lower than the 67.36% turnout in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. This reduction in voter participation, despite the constituency’s historical prominence, reflects changing dynamics and voter sentiment in the region.

BJP also wrested the Faridabad Lok Sabha constituency through Krishan Pal, who was able to secure win with a margin of 1,72,914 votes.

(The article is written by Saurav Gupta and Kushan Niyogi)