Delhi’s new police commissioner: Sanjay Arora

- July 31, 2022
| By : Patriot Bureau |

Sanjay Arora, a 1988-batch officer of Tamil Nadu cadre, has been appointed as the Delhi police commissioner and is set to take charge from Monday

Photo: ITBP recruitment website

The Central government on Sunday appointed Arora who will take over from Rakesh Asthana, 1984-batch Gujarat cadre IPS officer. 

BG Krishnan, Director, Union Ministry of Home Affairs, in an order wrote, “Police division, MHA, dated 31 July, has conveyed the approval of the competent authority for inter-cadre deputation of Sanjay Arora from Tamil Nadu Cadre to AGMUT cadre. In pursuance of the approval, Sanjay Arora is appointed as Commissioner of Police, Delhi, with effect from 1 August 2022, or from the date of taking over charge whichever is later till further orders. This issues with the approval of the competent authority.”

Arora will be leaving his current post of Director General, Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) to join for the new role. As of now, SL Thaosen, Director General of Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB), will head the ITBP as an additional charge.

As per PTI, Arora is only the third officer from outside the AGMUT (Arunachal Pradesh-Goa-Mizoram and Union Territory) cadre to be heading Delhi police force. 

Arora has a bachelor’s degree in Electrical and Electronics Engineering from Malviya National Institute of Technology, Jaipur. After joining the IPS, he served in various capacities in Tamil Nadu Police. He was awarded the prestigious CM’s Gallantry Medal for Bravery and Heroic Action for acting against dacoit Veerappan while he was the superintendent of police (SP), Special Task Force.

Among innumerable accolades in his name, Arora has been honoured with the Police Medal for Meritorious Service in 2004, President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service in 2014, Police Special Duty Medal, Antrik Suraksha Padak and UN Peacekeeping Medal.


For more stories that cover the ongoings of Delhi NCR, follow us on: