T20 World Cup: Shubman Gill, Avesh Khan to return to India, says report

- June 14, 2024
| By : Saurav Gupta |

Shubman Gill and Avesh Khan, currently serving as travelling reserves for India's T20 World Cup 2024 squad in the USA, are set to return to India after the group stage.

Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, and Avesh Khan are currently with the Indian cricket team in the USA as reserve players for the T20 World Cup 2024. In a significant update, it has been reported that Shubman Gill and Avesh Khan, who are serving as ‘travelling reserves’, will return to India after the group stage of the tournament.

Shubman Gill and Avesh Khan’s Departure:

Shubman Gill, who was not included in the main 15-man squad in favor of Yashasvi Jaiswal, is set to return home after the group stage matches in the USA. Pacer Avesh Khan is also expected to fly back following India’s match against Canada on June 15 in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

Also read: Delhi’s Judoka Tulika breaks glass ceiling, makes it to Olympics

According to sources from Cricbuzz, Gill and Avesh were intended to be with the squad only for the US leg of the tournament, with their return contingent on any potential injuries within the team. Their roles as travelling reserves were primarily due to the logistical challenges faced by the BCCI in quickly dispatching replacements from India to the USA or the Caribbean in case of injuries.

Gill and Avesh are currently in Florida, having traveled with the team from New York after India’s victory over the USA. Both the Indian and American teams traveled on a chartered flight arranged after their match at the Nassau County International Stadium in Long Island on Wednesday.

Also read: Hardik Pandya shuts down critics with stellar T20 World Cup performance

India Squad for T20 World Cup 2024:

Main Squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant (WK), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal, Sanju Samson (WK), Kuldeep Yadav, Yashasvi Jaiswal

Reserves: Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, Shubman Gill, Avesh Khan