Delhi LG sanctions UAPA prosecution for six involved in Parliament breach

- June 6, 2024
| By : Saurav Gupta |

Delhi Police had sought prosecution under Sections 16 and 18 of the UAPA from Lieutenant Governor Vinai Kumar Saxena

Delhi LG sanctions six guilty in Parliament Attack under UAPA

Delhi Lieutenant Governor Vinai Kumar Saxena on Thursday granted prosecution sanction under the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act (UAPA) against six individuals accused of breaching the Parliament during a live session on December 13, 2023.

According to sources at Raj Niwas, Delhi Police had sought prosecution under Sections 16 and 18 of the UAPA from the competent authority, the LG.

“After reviewing sufficient material evidence, the Lt. Governor granted the necessary sanction. Additionally, the Review Committee (DoP, Tis Hazari, Delhi), after examining all the evidence collected by the investigating agency, found the involvement of the accused in the Parliament attack case. On May 30, 2024, the Review Committee determined that a prima facie case was made out against the accused under UAPA,” they said.

Also read: Election results 2024: BJP maintains its hold over Delhi NCR

“The Delhi Police registered the case under FIR No. 142/23 on December 14, 2023, under sections 186 (Obstructing public servant in discharge of public functions), 353 (Assault or criminal force to deter public servant from discharge of his duty), 452 (Trespass After Preparation for Hurt, Assault, or Wrong­ful Restraint), 153 (provoking riot), 34 (joint criminal liability), and 120B (criminal conspiracy) of the Indian Penal Code (IPC)), along with sections 13, 16, and 18 of the UAPA, at the Parliament Street Police Station based on a complaint from a Lok Sabha security officer,” sources stated.

The investigation was subsequently transferred from the Parliament Street Police Station to the Counter Intelligence Unit of the PS Special Cell, New Delhi. During the investigation, the six accused were arrested and are currently lodged in judicial custody.

The accused, Manoranjan D, Sagar Sharma, Amol Dhanraj Shinde, Neelam Ranolia, Lalit Jha, and Mahesh Kumawat, allegedly entered the Parliament illegally and threw smoke canisters in the Lok Sabha.