Indiyart: An exhibition on tribal and folk art

- September 7, 2023
| By : Mohd Shehwaaz Khan |

Indiyart is Rooftop's inaugural exhibition, celebrating India's rich cultural landscape

An exhibition on folk and tribal art forms called Indiyart, presented by Rooftop, will be held from September 16-19 at Kalamkaar Gallery, Bikaner House. The exhibition will feature 9 Indian folk art forms and participation of around 30 master artists.

Indiyart is Rooftop’s inaugural exhibition, celebrating India’s rich cultural landscape. It takes you on a journey from the simplistic beauty of Warli art to the devotional art of Mata Ni Pachedi, traversing through the pious land of Nathdwara’s Shrinathji and the tales of Pabuji from the West.

It then leads you to the heart of India, where you can immerse yourself in the art of the Bhils and the Gonds, understanding their intricate creations through dots, lines, and patterns.

Continuing eastward, you’ll explore the magical world of Madhubani paintings, and finally, towards the southern lands of Telangana, discover the Cheriyal scrolls. Each of these art forms delves into mythological themes and offers unique ways of storytelling and worship.

“Indiyart is our effort to showcase various folk and tribal arts under one platform. With this exhibition we not only want to create awareness on the subject but also present the vivacity of the cultural amalgamation of our country,” says Kartik Gaggar, Founder & CEO of Rooftop.

The art forms and artists are as follows: Bhuri Bai and Lado Bai for Bhil, Venkat Singh Shyam for Gond; D. Venkat Ramana and Malleshram Pausa for Cheriyal; Ambika Devi, Awdesh Kumar Karn, Dulari Devi and Hema Devi for Madhubani; Kiran Chitara, Chandrakant Chitara, Kirit Chitara and Satish Chitara for Mata ni Pachedi; Abhishek Joshi and Kalyan Joshi for Phad; Rajaram Sharma for Pichwai; Pravin Mhase, Anil Vangad and Vijay Mhase for Warli. The miniature painting from Rajasthan will have participation from seven different schools of miniature like Shammi Bannu and Asharam Meghwal from Jaipur School, Sampatraj Bochiya from Jodhpur School, Virendra Bannu from Deogarh School, Kushnarayan Jangid from Kishangarh School, Bhanwar Lal Kumawat from Mewar School, Mahaveer Swami from Bikaner School and Anandilal Sharma from Nathwada School.