Lone woman biker stands out in Moto3

- September 24, 2023
| By : Khurram Habib |

Spaniard Ana Carrasco, who was the first-ever woman to secure points in Moto3, finishes 19th at Buddh International Circuit

Ana Carrasco

While Spain’s Jaume Masia of Leopard Racing won the Moto3 race of the IndianOil Grand Prix of India, and was followed by Japanese duo of Kaito Toba and Ayumu Sasaki, Spanish rider Ana Carrasco stood out as being the only woman on the grid this season.

The 26-year-old, who entered the Moto3 World Championship in 2013, finished 19th constantly working up from 25th place to 23rd and then to 22nd before settling in her eventual position out of the 28 who had started. Seven of the riders couldn’t be classified.

Ana, who made history as the first woman to secure points in the Moto3 World Championship by finishing 15th at the Malaysian Grand Prix and eighth at the season-ending Valencian Community Grand Prix in 2013, spoke to the media on Saturday, after qualifying in 25th place for the race-day on Sunday.

“I am very happy to be here. I like the country. It is a bit hot so we are struggling a bit with this during the weekend. But I am enjoying the track,” said Ana.

She has been moved by the support she got from female fans.

“This is something really nice being the only female in the world championship. It is good that they (fans) look up to me because what is important is to improve the women’s involvement in the sport. They follow someone who is already here. It is important. I am proud to be that one and try to help them.”

Ana said that she has to work on strength since she has to compete with the male riders.

“Every rider has a different training plan. We never ride on racing bikes at home, it is only in races, so everyone is doing what he thinks is better,” she said, answering a query from Patriot.

“But in my case, I am a female rider, so I try to work on the physical part because I need to gain more weight and also train with small bikes and in small circuits because [eventually] you have to compete on bikes in events.”

Spaniard Pedro Acosta of Red Bull KTM Ajo won the Moto2. He was followed by Italian Tony Arbolino of ELF Marc VDS Racing Team and American Joe Roberts of Italtrans Racing Team.